A List of HTTP Status Codes with their descriptions

HTTP Status Codes: A Comprehensive List

What are HTTP Status Codes?

HTTP status codes are three-digit codes returned by servers to indicate the status of a requested resource. They play a crucial role in communication between a client and a server, helping to ensure the smooth functioning of the internet. Understanding these codes and their meanings can help developers to diagnose and fix problems with their web applications and search engine optimization.

In this list, we will go over some of the most common HTTP status codes and provide brief descriptions of what they indicate in this comprehensive list.

List of HTTP Status Codes

Here is a list of common HTTP status codes along with a brief description:

1xx: Informational

  • 100 Continue: The server has received the request headers and the client should proceed to send the request body.
  • 101 Switching Protocols: The request is asking the server to switch to a different communication protocol.

2xx: Success

  • 200 OK: The request was successful, and the server has returned the requested information.
  • 201 Created: The request was successful, and a new resource has been created as a result.
  • 204 No Content: The request was successful, but the server has not returned any content.

3xx: Redirection

  • 300 Multiple Choices: The request has multiple options, and the server is asking the client to choose one.
  • 301 Moved Permanently: The requested resource has been permanently moved to a new location. The client should use the new URL in future requests.
  • 302 Found: The requested resource temporarily resides at a different URL. The client should continue to use the original URL for future requests, but may follow the new URL if it desires.
  • 304 Not Modified: The client has performed a conditional GET request and the server informs the client that the resource has not been modified.

4xx: Client Error

  • 400 Bad Request: The request is malformed or invalid.
  • 401 Unauthorized: The client must authenticate itself to access the requested resource.
  • 403 Forbidden: The client does not have access to the requested resource.
  • 404 Not Found: The server cannot find the requested resource.
  • 409 Conflict: The request could not be processed due to a conflict on the server.

5xx: Server Error

  • 500 Internal Server Error: An error has occurred on the server.
  • 501 Not Implemented: The server does not support the functionality required to complete the request.
  • 503 Service Unavailable: The server is currently unable to handle the request due to maintenance or high traffic.


This list has covered some of the most commonly used HTTP status codes, including informational, success, redirection, client error, and server error codes. Whether you are a beginner or an experienced developer, this information is crucial for ensuring that your web application runs smoothly and efficiently.

Related Posts